The Lives We Lead

In recent months, I have taken a break from my clothing designing days to try and refocus on what it is that I want… out of life.

I ADORE clothing and costume and I ADORE film, acting, theater.  In the last two years, I have immersed myself in doing small roles on the screen and most most recently on the stage, having been accepted in the LA-based, newly minted New York branch of the 68 Cent Crew Theatre Company.  Holy run-on sentence.

In the six years that I was designing ready-to-wear collections and individual pieces for sale on Etsy.com and in shops, I felt burdened and stifled by the need to sell, sell, sell.  I am a fine artist by trade and as most could tell, I lingered towards the art side of the the border between everyday wearable and costume.  I even sometimes felt the need to compromise my designs because they had to sell.  I also loved staging weird film-like photoshoots and strange and eerie or even dreamy photos for my collections, which doesn’t always go over well with everyone.

I love creating painterly whimsical outfits and if anyone actually knows me, they know I also love wearing such things.  I have an arsenal of costume-y pieces and weird stuff in my home.  In fact, my entire home and studio is full of the artful, as opposed to, let’s say, the subtle.  As I have gotten older, I have decided that I want to merge my two loves and not have to downplay my artistic side to be pragmatic or realistic, I should push it to it’s limits.  I have been able to do so with designing costumes for Brooklyn-based bands in the last three years and for limitless projects I do for myself.  Even still, I want to go bigger and better.

With that said, I am so excited to announce that I have just been brought onto costume design a feature film called Yaatra, which is beginning filming next week here in New York.  It’s an Indian fairy tale and I am so excited to be able to create a stylistic, whimsical scheme and color palette or the actors. The inspiration for the clothing in this film are fairytales from France and the U.K. from the early 20th century to the late.  This project also presents a real challenge for me as a Westerner, seeing as I am designing with an Eastern storyline and Eastern actors.  I am hoping that this project allows for my creative clothing-related endeavors to take off full throttle.

Happy Thursday.

xo Desira

Leave a Reply

