Sleep & Its Magic

IMG_4137

Dreaming is irrationally insane.  The dreams my head has conjured over the course of my twenty-six and a half years are sometimes appallingly grotesque, strange, unmerited, psychic, and altogether fascinating.  Two nights ago, I dreamt that my most recent ex-lover died in my arms.  I later found out (in the dream) that he had ingested a lot of pills and had committed suicide.  When I woke up, I was so utterly tainted by this dream that despite the fact that we hadn’t spoken in a few months (on account of my ending relations after his bullshit), I was nearly prompted to write him and ask if he was okay.  The dream shook me hard and despite the fact that I don’t think he would or could commit suicide, I wanted to check in.  The last thing I wished for was to hear through mutual friends that he had off-ed himself; and I had had a premonition and had done nothing to stop it.

IMG_4139…After consulting with my sister and good buddy Anna, who acted as sounding boards for my many problems with him, the prognosis became: no don’t contact him, it was only a dream.  Anna added her Dream Dictionary’s explanation of the dream which was: “To see others commit suicide foretells that the failure of others will affect your interests.  For a young woman to dream that her lover commits suicide, her disappointment by the faithlessness of the lover is accentuated. ”

Okay then…. last night I had a wild dream involving a labyrinthine building with tall ceiling, stadium seating, and a complex maze of ceiling ducts that I crawled through between rooms.  I don’t remember much else, but I do know that there was a puppy and gymnastics.  I had to perform gymnastics moves and had to crawl into those ducts with others.  I think we might have been trapped in there, yet remained lackadaisical about it.IMG_4147

I dream in color.  Whomever claimed we don’t is silly.

Leave a Reply

