I Keep Spouting Profanities, But It’s Just Too Beautiful…

I have been extraordinarily enamored with Iceland, its landscape, people, culture, et al. for about three years now.  My dream is to go before I die (also to India) and the reality of this is growing more and more now that Icelandair is offering packages for $400 r/t.  Sigh.  In this time of economic and political unrest, unrelaxation, and ultimately shitty horribleness, it’s somewhat of a dream for travelling ability for some and a nightmare for others.

I just spend a little over a half hour looking at photos of Iceland via a search on Flickr.  The constant stream of words coming out of my mouth for that length of time have included, “holy f-ing shit….” and”jesus f-ing christ” while clicking through each photo.  This place is beyond words and obviously in need of profane reactions.

Photo: Sarah Witt via misssnart.vox.com

Photo: Sarah Witt via misssnart.vox.com

This place is incredible.

Photo: Sarah Witt via misssnart.vox.com

Photo: Sarah Witt via misssnart.vox.com

Sigh.  My sister and I are going to ask our parents to finance us going in celebration of her college graduation.  It’s not going to happen, yet I can’t help but dream.

Photo: Sarah Witt via misssnart.vox.com

Photo: Sarah Witt via misssnart.vox.com

I do think that going to a country of unrest on vacation is also a bit out of line.  I don’t want to take advantage of someone’s hardship with a camera and a suitcase in tote.  Hmm.  That’s like losing your restaurant due to financial problems and everyone comes and buys your filet mignons and lobsters for $1.59.

Hmm.

I suppose it’s not that dissimilar from the trips people took to Thailand after the tsunami… or the real estate seizing in New Orleans due to a lost population.  I want to get lost in it all, but don’t even feel comfortable in New Orleans when I visit and want to take photos.  People hate HATE when they have their city’s sadness and suffering exploited.

Leave a Reply

