……

April 27, 2008

Woops it’s been a while. I got a new computer and had to wait to get all my info and such onto it…

I have added a few more things to my Etsy Shop and also have been laboring over some items heading to Love Brigade Coop, a collective in Williamsburg Brooklyn. I’m going to add some pictures for real!

The first picture is a new blouse I just made called Staralfur Blouse. It took several hours to construct and I am quite pleased with it. You can see its Etsy listing here. So did anyone read the NYTimes article about military advertising geared towards women because of the lack of women enlisting? They’ve been throwing ads into magazines like SHAPE and SELF. I suggest you read the article if you haven’t, as they also mention ads from past Marine Campaigns targeted to women. I think they’re extremely telling of our current and past takes on women and their role in combat and nationalism. I love seeing how this propaganda of sorts shows direct lineage to women’s views of themselves and their roles in that said time in society as well. NYTimes interviewed a 17 year old woman who was preparing to enlist as soon as she graduated from high school. Her driving forces were a brother in the military whom who looks up to and an eager desire to prove herself among men. I know that as someone who grew up rather tom-boyish and competitive with an overzealous desire to keep up with boys, these feelings are ubiquitous. We might like dainty things, but don’t think we won’t take these delicate dresses out to play in the muck and rain. I’m feeling lackluster here and don’t have much more to say, so I’ll move on.

The bottom picture is a view of the building that houses my studio in Brooklyn. We’re right on the ocean. I love the water and waves and I can be sure that a hell of a lotta people had no idea parts of NYC looked like this. I didn’t either until about a year ago. I love it. New York has so many secrets. I like uncovering them little by little. I’m sure, just as a house you grew up in can bring surprises and covertly placed treasures throughout your lifetime, so too can a city you inhabit.

Leave a Reply

