…..

Tuesday, July 1, 2008

HI! I DISAPPEARED AND NOW I’M BACK. I’M HIRING!!

If you or someone you know lives in NYC and needs a part-time paid internship sewing and cutting for a handmade independent line by a kickass designer who treats her workers like awesome pals, let me know!! email —> desirapesta@desirapesta.com

Friday, June 20, 2008

So, Scandinavia has taken over my small sea-faring village in Brooklyn New York. Ikea has arrived across from my studio space and it brings throngs of zealots who readily camp out front two days prior to its opening to bring home a free sofa, if they can be one of the first 45 people inside. I am both joyed and annoyed that this store has taken up space in my lovely, small, and community-oriented neighborhood, where we recognize each other by face and sometimes by name and there are only five restaurants to dine in. Sigh. I moved here only five months ago and shouldn’t find the gall to call this my home yet, yet it is. I have found my dream neighborhood, minutes from Manhattan, yet reserved and remote, where I have a real community.

What used to be a wonderfully dilapidated old waterfront building and a pile of rusty metal jutting out over the water, is now a tumultuous mess of primary colors save for red. It really ruined the landscape. Red Hook (my neighborhood) is dusty, dingy, grey, and it appears as though God yielded his highlighters and legos to signify change right smack here. Now, it has been said that this new Ikea brought 600 jobs to red Hook residents, most of whom, I am sure, are residents of the many nearby projects. Jobs in this economy are badly needed, yet although these people now have a mildly competitive barely living wage, they will soon be driven out by the many people who will be moving into our neighborhood in the coming months and years. This place is one of the last Brooklyn neighborhoods waiting to be gentrified. The white people who live in R.H. are rich. The mean rent is $1000/month, that ain’t cheap, and rent’s only going to go up. That means, the escalating rents coupled with the stores and boutiques and restaurants that will also emerge, will drive the projects out, annihilating any real good this Ikea did for the job-needy of Northwest Brooklyn.

When just six months ago my mention of Red Hook would have drawn a slew of puzzled looks and “where?”s, now friends and acquaintances are vowing that their move to Red Hook will recreate the idyllic suburbia of their childhoods. Don’t get me wrong, I am not an Ikea-hater. I love egalitarian high-design as much as the next Dwell reader, yet it doesn’t need to be here. I love looking at furniture, but NYC is small, tight, and close-quartered. We don’t have the space a small suburb in New Jersey does to accommodate a huge crap of a building with the thousands who frequent it every week. Now there is extra traffic and extra buses and extra jerks looking around for the perfect spot to develop their next skyscraper.

Every day, as I pedal that five minutes it takes to get to work, I am almost mowed down and killed by the many trucks barreling down Van Brunt street or any other adjacent road. It’s much scarier than that in Manhattan because there’s no where to go. A narrow two lane road you’d find in Vermont does not fit two 18-wheelers crossing paths, as well as bikers and walkers and strollers. This little town can’t handle it. At night Red Hook shuts down. This place is beautiful. I love it. Ikea, you and cheap disposable products suck suck suck.

Monday, June 16, 2008

Damn, I am a bad blogger. I have been really frustrated lately. This is the only type of human who ever hits on me and it’s really disheartening…

Tuesday, June 10, 2008

COME ONE , COME ALL NYC

Leave a Reply

